lt is something we never know in the present moment, if reality is a dream or if the dream is reality.
Milan Kundera [1]

Does high-end technology today carry the possibility of reconciling with nature? After having allowed us to satisfy our will for power and to take distance from our environment, which sometimes turns out to be dramatic, will our tools help us to go back in the course of time, to that mythical period in which human and nature were one? Challenging the almost palpable pessimism of our time is the premise of Osmose [2], an immersive virtual space created by the artist Char Davies, thanks to the software of Softimage, a young Quebec company that imposed itself worldwide in the beginning of the 9O's in the field of three-dimentional computer animation.

We have to admit, Osmose is provided with astonishing and unprecedented characteristics, which set it apart from the technically advanced, but until now aesthetically very conventional, so called «virtual reality». In most examples, a helmet with stereoscopic visual display diffuses sounds but mostly images, passing so close to the eye that it almost invades the whole field of view, creating the illusion of being «inside» the images. In other respects, the computer iswconventionally linked to a glove provided with sensors that constantly «reconfigure» the content of the field of view according to the movements of the hand. The result of this is are new illusions, the one of moving to the left, to the right, forward, backward, up or down. Rise, jump, fly, all this becomes possible, without effort, because the gravitational forces are disabled: with the crisp sensation of being carried away, literally in another world.

A virtual reality apart.

Osmose breaks new grounds in at least three essential aspects: by the «navigation», the quality of the images and goal proposed. Instead of a glove, we slip into an adjustable vest that interprets left-right, forward-backward movements as well as movements of breathing. So, we rise when we inhale and we go down when we exhale. The body is brought into play by its movements and with one of its essential organic functions. Then the images and their objects . . . With few exceptions, the vast majority of actual virtual reality pieces remain without surprises regarding graphics - i.e. sharp lines, hard edges, saturated colours - and imagination bumps into rigid and closed parameters. These worlds of fiction have, besides, defined aims, more or less copied from the military model: in general the goal is to eliminate, to erase an entity or opponent. In this regard, they play the part, - and couldn't do it any better - of the manipulative westem worldview, tuned toward a single goal: control as pure spirit, perfectly dísembodied, a world where surprise, doubt and ambíguity, and therefore mystery, have been erased.

With Osmose, slight movements of the torso and controlled breathing allow us to manoeuver from «world-space» to «world-space»: the «forest», the «clearing», the «leaf», the «ground», the «pond», the «abyss» and the «sky» overlap and follow one another according to our change of location. The colours, mainly in natural tones of brown, green and sepia, hardly distinct, with imperceptible gradations. Some «landscapes» are covered with sparkling lumínous particles, veritable constellations creating fugitive impressions of movement and depth. Like the paintings Davies did in her previous life, the images deliberately sway between figuration and abstraction. For example, the leaves are clearly recognizable, but because of their soft and moving style, we cannot at anytime confuse them with reality like a film or a video. We find ourself physically immersed in the «idea» of a leaf, in pure representation. Finally, the complex and undefined «textures», especially in the zones between two world-spaces, increase the impression of finding ourself in an oniric and ambigous space: a world almost organic, almost synthetic, almost mineral, almost figurative, almost . . . real, where you can nearly move at will.

An interior world which is not ours to control

Because we cannot do whatever we want to in Osmose . . . Trying to grab an image, to fix a plane, to go towards a specific point (as when we want to distinguish the pigment or the texture of a painting) exposes one to frustration, frustration that is quickly dispersed however by the curiosity aroused by unusual activity in one corner, the emergence of a plane or a depth, the sudden dive into a new «wor1d». This virtual space opposes our fantasies and, onto our will exerts a subtle but nevertheless tangible resistance. We exert some power, but are however limited by forces that defy us to a large extent, a little like humans hundreds or thousands of years ago. Our senses use a seductive language that we know to be untrue. Finally our Spectator status cannot be more uncertain and complex because we are at the same time transmitter and receptor, host and guest of this complex apparatus, where we create a unprecedented succession of images. This installation, within which we are the space, evolves in us, litteraly . . .

Osmose
Interactive, immersive virtual space, presented at the Museum of Contemporary Art in Montreal from August 19th to October 1st, 1995

All this gives rise to the diffuse feeling, manifesting itself between Osmose and us, or we might as well say between mind and body, of sensing the buoy becoming blurred, of slipping the mooring ropes, of not being anchored to reality: the usual references are not simply abolished, that would be too simple, but subtlely altered, shifted [3]. The interior computer, used for decades to sort and process physical and organic data solid and real - on the opposite of aesthetic (given information or data), which it has quickly understand that they were often deliberately distorted or ambiguous, finds itself short-circuited, in constant shift.

The Osmose Effect

Primitive astonishment.
Cautious amazement.
Sensation of floating in a wonder world, abandoned to the caprices of random forces whereby origins and logic escapes us - but where anything is possible. To get one's bearings, each person has no other choice but to retum into oneself, to concentrate on the origin of his or her movements, in this state of osmosis between the body and this exterior/interior. Without really noticing, he or she lingers on her or his subtle movements, as psychologists say, and on her or his breathing. A place of exchange between inside and outside, in organic time from where rhythm, frantic or quiet, reverberates in the whole body, this fundamental organic phenomenon is a familiar daily miracle. Universal and constant voluntary/involuntary activity, in which stopping means death, breathing animates numerous esoteric and spiritual traditions, especially through meditation.

Here is explained Davies' ambition to reopen the awareness dimension, the communication with the world, the same one who closed itself as much on nature as on ourselves (dés lors that our knowledge and our tools allowed us to explain and dominate the most part of the visible. Osmose discourages agressive behavior (excesive speed causes us to we find ourselves in a very Cartesian grid, less rich visually) in favor of a gentler approach, more sensitive and intuitive. In favour of a listening attitude, which would inspire us and would inscribe itself in our limbs and our interior fibre, as in an earlier time where nature enveloped us completely and required from us a constant awareness of our inside and outside worlds, an awareness that we foolishly exchanged for the sleep of the civilized.

Will Osmose be able to achieve this, to enchant the world for us again, as Davies would like? Will she succeed in giving it back - and if so, to how many of us? [4] - this part of the mystery and unknown which will, at last urge us to stop, our senses on the watch, trying to distinguish what is moving there, in the foliage? Everything is possible, as soonas she incites us to tame again the idea that the world, despite our fabulous tools, remains a place that deserves to be explored carefully, would it only be because we have a chance to discover the most peculiar animal, the most fabulous - and sometimes the most worrying of all creation: ourselves.

Notes

[1] La vie est ailleurs, Gallimard collection Folio, 1982, p. 251


[2] Shown at the 6th International Symposiom on Electronic arts (ISEA 95), Osmose is a work in progress, destined to be enriched with new elements in the course of the next months.


[3] The comment on such a virtual space can only be subjective, and this descriptive picture points back to a stubborn ídealism from the commentator and of the conditions of experimentation: to the rariety of esthetic references is added the particularity of the point of view: here it's impossible to go back, to turn around the work as it would be feasible with a painting or a sculpture: we are «inside» or we are not - moreover it is inside us or it is not.


[4] At a rate of 4 persons per hour, the capacity of Osmose is certainly limited. But in the installation at the Museum, spectators can, with the help of stereoscopic glasses, follow on a large video screen the images seen in real time by the person in the helmet whose shadow-silhouette is projected on a translucent screen.


This article may include minor changes from the original publication in order to improve legibility and layout consistency within the Immersence Website.  † Significant changes from the original text have been indicated in red square brackets.

Last verified: September 17th 2013.

Mais c'est une chose qu'on no sait jamais dans l'instant présent, si la réalité est un songe ou si le rêve est la réalité.
Milan Kundera [1]

La haute technologie serait-elle porteuse aujourd'hui d'une possibilité de rapprochement avec la nature? Après nous avoir permis d'assouvir notre volonté de puissance et de prendre avec notre environnement des distances dont certaines s'avèrent dramatiques, nos outils nous aideront-ils à remonter le cours du temps, jusqu'à cette époque mythique où l'humain et la nature ne faisaient qu'un? Ce pari de taille, défi au pessimisme presque palpable de notre époque, est la prémisse même d'Osmose [2], un espace virtuel créé par l'artiste Char Davies grâce aux logiciels de Softimage, jeune entreprise québécoise qui au début des années quatre-vingt-dix s'est imposée mondialement dans le domaine de l'animation en trois dimensions.

On doit le reconnaître, Osmose dispose de caractéristiques étonnantes et inédites, qui en font un spécimen à part dans le monde techniquement très nouveau - mais esthétiquement jusqu'à présent très conventionnel - de ce qu'on appelle la «réalité virtuelle». Un casque a vision stéréoscopique diffusé des sons et surtout des images, qui défilent si près de l'oil qu'ellés envahissent presque tout le champ visuel, créant ainsi l'illusion d'etre «dans» les images. Par ailleurs, un ordinateur relié à un gant muni de senseurs «repense» constamment le contenu du champ visuel en fonction des mouvements de la main. Il en résulte une nouvelle illusion, celle de se mouvoir vers la gauche, la droite, l'avant, l'arrière, lé haut ou le bas. Flotter, monter, sauter, voler, tout cela devient possible, et sans effort, puisque les forces de la gravité sont mises en veilleuse: d'où la sensation très nette d'être transporté dans un autre monde, littéralement.

Une Realite Virtuelle A Part

Osmose innove sur au moins trois aspects essentiels: par le type de «navigation», la qualité des images et l'objectif proposé. Plutôt qu'un gant, on enfile une veste réglable, qui capte non seulement les mouvements gauche-droite et avant-arrière de la colonne vertébrale mais aussi les mouvements de la respiration. Ainsi, on «monte» quand on inspire et on «descend» quand on expire, Le corps entre donc en jeu par ses mouvements et par une de ses fonctions organiques essentielles.

Ensuite les images et leur objet. Lignes nettes, angles durs, couleurs saturées: hormis quelques exceptions, la grande majorité des «réalités virtuelles» actuelles demeure sans surprise du point de vue graphique, et l'imaginairé s'y heurte à des paramètres rigides et fermés. Ces mondes de fiction offrent, en outre, des finalités définies, plus ou moins fidèlement calquéés sur le modèle militaire: il s'agit, en général, d'élin1iner, d'effacer une entité ou un quelconque adversaire. De ce point de vue, elles incarnent, on ne peut mieux, les valeurs d'un Occident manipulateur, touné vers un seul but: dominer en esprit pur, parfaitement désincané, un monde d'où la surprise, le douté et l'ambiguïté - donc le mystère - ont été gommés.

Avec Osmose, de légers mouvements du torse et une respiration contrôlée nous permettent d'évoluer de «monde» en «monde»: la «forêt», la «clairière», la «feuillé», la «terre», l'«étang», l'«abysse» et le «ciel» se chévauchent et se succèdent selon nos déplacements. Les couleurs, majoritairement dans les tons naturels de brun, vert et sépia, sont peu tranchées, avec des dégradés imperceptibles. Certains «paysages» sont parcourus de scintillantes particules lumineuses, véritables constellations qui créent de fugitíves impressions de mouvement et de profondeur. À l'instar des peintures que Davies faisait dans une vie antérieure, les images oscillent délibérément entre figuration et abstraction. Par exemple, les feuilles sont bien reconnaissables, mais du fait de leur facture un peu floue et mouvante, on ne peut à aucun moment les confondre avec la réalité, comme dans un film ou une vidéo. On se trouve donc immergé physiquement dans l'idée d'une feuille, dans la représentation a l'état pur. Enfin, les «textures», complexes ét indéfinies, surtout à la charnière de deux mondes, accroissent l'impression de se retrouver dans un espace onirique et ambigu: un monde quasi organique, quasi de synthèse, quasi minéral, quasi figuratif, quasi . . . réel, où l'on peut presque se déplacer a sa guise.

Un Monde Intérieur Qui Ne Serait Pas Le Notre

Car on ne fait pas ce qu'on veut dans Osmose. Essayer de saisir une image, de fixer un plan, d'aller vers un point spécifique (comme quand on veut distinguer le pigment ou la texture d'un tableau), c'est s'exposer à la frustration, frustration d'ailleurs vite effacée par la curiosité que suscité une activité insolite dans un coin, l'émergence d'un plan ou d'uné profondeur, la plongée soudaine dans un nouveau «moncle». Cet espace virtuel oppose à nos fantasmes et notre volonté une résistance subtile mais néanmoins presque tangible. Nous y exerçons un certain pouvoir, cependant circonscrit par des forces dont la nature nous échappe dans une large mesure - un peu comme l'humain d'il y a quelques centaines ou quelques milliers d'années. Nos sens nous tiennent un langage séducteur, mais que nous savons trompeur. Enfin, notre statut de spectateur est on ne peut plus incertain et complexe puisque nous voilà à la fois émetteur et récepteur, hôte et invité de cet appareillage complexe, où nous cocréons une succession inédite d'images. Cette installation, dont nous sommes l'espace, évolue en nous, littéralcment . . .

Osmose
Espace immersif, interactif virtuel présenté au Musée d'art contemporain de Montréal du 19 août au 1er octobre 1995

Tout ceci donne lieu au sentiment diffus, qui se manifeste quelque part entre Osmose et nous - autant dire entre l'esprit et le corps - de sentir les balises s'estomper, d'avoir largué les amarres, de n'être plus tout à fait ancré dans le réel: les repères habituels sont non pas carrément abolis - ce serait trop simple - mais subtilement altérés, déplacés [3]. L'ordinateur intérieur, habitué depuis des décennies à trier et à traiter des données physiques et organiques «solides», «réelles» - à l'inverse des donnés esthétiques, dont il a vite compris qu"elles étaient souvent délibérément faussées ou ambiguës - se trouve comme court-circuité, en constant décalage.

L'Effet Osmose

Étonnement primitif.
Émerveillement circonspect.
Sensation de flotter dans un monde enchanté, livré aux caprices de forces aléatoires dont l'origine et la logique nous échappent - mais où tout est virtuellement possible. Pour se repérer, la personne n'a pas d'autre choix que d'effeetuer un retour en soi et sur soi, de se concentrer sur les origines de ses déplacements, dans cet état d'Osmose entre son corps et cet extérieur/intérieur. Sans vraiment s'en rendre compte, il ou elle s'attarde donc sur ses mouvements de motricité fine, comme disent les psychologues, et sur sa respiration. Lieu d'échange entre l'intérieur et l'extérieur, temps organique dont le rythme, effréné ou calme, se répercute dans tout le corps, ce phénomène organique fondamental est aussi anodin qu'un miracle quotidien. Activité volontaire/involontaire universelle et constante, dont l'arrêt signifie la mort a brève échéance, la respiration anime nombre de traditions ésotériques et spirituelles, notamment par le biais de la méditation.

C'est ici que s'explique l'ambition de Davies d'arriver par Osmose à rouvrir la dimension d'éveil, de communication avec le monde, celle-la même qui s`est refermée tant sur la nature que sur nous-mêmes dès lors que nos connaissances et nos outils nous ont permis d'expliquer et de soumettre la plus grande part du visible. Ainsi, Osmose décourage les comportements agressifs (on se retrouve dans une grille très caitésienne, visuellement moins riche) en faveur d'une approche plus douce, plus sensible et intuitive. D'une attitude découte, qui nous inspirerait et s'inscrirait jusque dans nos membres et notre fibre intérieure, comme à l'époque où la nature nous enveloppait tout entiers et exigeait de nous un éveil constant a nos mondes intérieur et extérieur, éveil que nous avons follement troqué pour le sommeil du civilisé.

Osmose réussira-t-elle à enchanter à nouveau le monde, comme le voudrait Davies? Arrivera-t-elle à lui rendre - et si oui, à combien d'entre nous? [4] - cette part de mystère et d'inconnu qui nous incitera enfin à nous arrêter, sens aux aguets, pour essayer de discerner ce qui remue, là, dans les feuillages? Tout est possible, dès lors qu'elle nous incite à apprivoiser à nouveau l'idée que le monde, malgré nos outils fabuleux, demeure un endroit qui mérite d'être exploré avec soin, ne serait-ce que parce que l'on a des chances d'y découvrir l'animal le plus étrange, le plus fabuleux - et parfois le plus inquiétant - de la création: nous-mêmes.

Notes

[1] La vie est ailleurs, Gallimard collection Folio, 1982, p. 251


[2] Présentée a l'occasion du 6e Symposium international sur les arts electroniques (ISEA 95), Osmose est un véritable work in progress, appelé à s'enrichir d'eléments nouveaux au cours des mois à venir.


[3] Le commentaire sur un tel emace virtuel ne peut être que subjectif et ce tableau descriptif renvoie à un idealisme tenace de la part du commentateur et aux conditions d'expérimeniation: à la rareté des repères esthétiques s'ajoute la particularité du point de vue: impossible, ici, de reculer, de tourner autour de l'ouvre comme cela se fait avec une peinture ou une sculpture: on est «dedans» ou on n'«y» est pas - ou encore, elle est en nous ou elle n'y est pas.


[4] À raison de quatre personnes à l'heure, la capacite' d 'Osmose est certes limitée. Cependant dans l'installation au Musée, les spectateurs peurvent, grâce a des lunettes steréoseopiques, suivre sur grand ecran vidéo le déroulement des images vues par la personne sous le casque, dont la silhouette est projetée sur un écrun translucide.


This article may include minor changes from the original publication in order to improve legibility and layout consistency within the Immersence Website.  † Significant changes from the original text have been indicated in red square brackets.

Last verified: September 17th 2013.